Giant Blanket

I’m off to a slow start this year, but I’ve decided to make a blanket! I started out trying to make a brown basket weave afghan from an old Vanna White book, but after about 16 rows, all I could think about was how bored I was. The basket weave stitch is very pretty and I really enjoy it  (I made a basket weave scarf for someone as a Christmas present and I’m still kicking myself over not taking a picture of it) but it’s a bit too monotonous when it comes to making something big.

Instead, I found this really cool-looking throw on Ravelry. I got all excited about it and then realized it’s a pattern for knitting. I always forget how to knit and it’s pretty annoying so I don’t want to knit it. The throw itself looks relatively simple. I think it’s just several pieces sewn together. So I drew it up in Paint and sectioned it off, and I’m doing the sections in single crochet. Nate chose the colors, he wanted something bright. We ended up with neon-ish shades of  pink, green, blue, and orange with black. Originally, he was going to help me make it, so we decided it should be as big as the bed. Unfortunately, I didn’t think about the fact that he has no experience and he has no idea how to match his tension to mine – everything he tries comes out super tight and I crochet pretty loosely – so I’m going to make this giant blanket all by myself. I officially started on the first of January, and I think I’m making decent progress.

I’ve finished 5 pieces but have yet to weave in the ends. I think it looks a lot like the knitted version.

I may redo the three middle blocks because I didn’t get into the groove of things until I started the first bigger section and there are a couple mistakes. I don’t usually mind if it’s something I’m making for myself, but that center block’s pink section is too big and it bothers me. I’m going to wait until the rest of the blanket is finished though.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Giant Blanket

  1. Sarah says:

    I love making blankets. I finished my last one the other day (pics at http://pookledo.blogspot.com/2012/01/blankie.html ) and I’ve already started making my next one :)

    Hope you enjoy making yours too!

    • Bean says:

      Wow, your blanket is great! I see “scrap blankets” on Ravelry sometimes and I always really like them. I haven’t been using yarn for long enough to have enough scraps, but it will happen someday!

Leave a Reply

