I Made Something for Me!

Yep, that’s right. I totally made myself a hat. It’s for me and only me! I’m a little unhappy with it because the yarn called for a J hook, so I used a J hook, and the stitches ended up super loose. You can see through it a bit and that makes me sad, but not sad enough to make it all over again.

I like the way the top of the hat looks.

I used Red Heart Boutique Midnight, and the colorway is called Shadow. It’s got some shimmery bits and it changes from dark gray, to light gray, to pink. I don’t usually go for something so… feminine. The shimmer and the pink are both new to me, and I might not wear it very often, but I still like it because it’s mine. This is one of the very few things I’ve made for myself, so it makes me extra happy.

Here I am, being so happy that I can’t contain my tongue.

Man, what a frightening picture.

So. Anyway… I’ve been sick for the past few days. It’s a horrible cold and pretty much everyone in the world seems to have it too. I could be using all this boring sick time to crochet, but I feel so awful that I don’t want to do anything. I’ve spent hours staring at the ceiling. Or the wall. It was nice to get back into it today, even if it was only for a couple hours.

Today was also the first day I left the house in a while (because of the sick). I went to Michaels and signed up for a cake decorating class! Yay! It’s the basic course, and it only cost $11.25 for all four classes. I got the basic kit for Christmas and I tried to sign up for the class in January, but it was full. So I promised myself I’d sign up for the February class ASAP, and of course I got too sick to leave the house and couldn’t sign up until today (only a week before the class begins). I was worried it’d be full and I’d have to wait another month, but there was only one other person on the sign-up sheet. I wonder if the class will be canceled if there aren’t enough students. I still have to buy some supplies for the first lesson, which shouldn’t be too bad, but I found a list of what I’ll have to bring to the second, third, and fourth lessons, and I’m feeling a little worried. I have no idea how much all that stuff costs, but… I don’t know, it’s such a long, scary list.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I Made Something for Me!

  1. She's Crafty! says:

    The cost can get totally overwhelming. Definitely plan ahead and use as many coupons as possible. Let me know if you have any questions about your class, I’d be happy to help :) Ooh and when you start definitely tell me what you like and don’t like about the class so i can be sure to do or not do those things :) Feedback is always nice.

    Love the beanie also!

    • Bean says:

      Thanks! It’ll be really nice to have someone else to ask, especially if I don’t have time to do so in class (or, more likely: I’m too shy to ask). I’ll definitely let you know what I think of it. When I signed up, I remembered you’re an instructor and wished you could be my instructor – that’d be nice! But I’m pretty sure you don’t live in Connecticut and your name isn’t Pat lol

  2. Sasha says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog! I have always wanted to try out the cake decorating class too but I always imagine my classmates will be cake bosses LOL I look forward to your updates on the class and maybe I will try it out too.

    • Bean says:

      I know how you feel… I’ve imagined the same thing! I’m worried I won’t get it as quickly as my classmates and I’ll hold them back, but I’m trying to stay optimistic. I’ll definitely be posting updates about how it goes, though, and I’ll be as honest as possible if it’ll help you with your decision! :]

Leave a Reply

