Lazy Post

I’ve been lazy this week. I had all these ideas for things to post about, but I didn’t bother with any of them. Instead of grouping them all into one long post, I’ll write about one thing and space everything else out. That way, I’ll have something to write about when I really have nothing to write about.

This past weekend, I felt funky. In a bad way. Whenever I feel as bad as I did, I change something in my life. I think I do it because it gives me something new and exciting to focus on. Saturday night, I chose to change the length of my hair. I chopped it all off. I did it myself, and I just have to say: I should never be allowed near hair when I have scissors in my hand. I completely destroyed my head.

So, I spent some of Sunday making hats because I didn’t want to pay to get my hair fixed. Two hats, both red (from the same skein). Here are some pictures, since I post pictures of stuff I make.

This one came out looking like a bucket hat. I didn’t follow a pattern, just kind of did whatever I felt like.

I really don’t like this first one. It’s single crochet with three rows of shells and a half-double crochet border. I don’t know what I was doing. It looks okay in the picture because the stitches are pretty neat (if I do say so myself), but trust me, it’s stupid in real life.

The second hat, from the top, because that’s the best part.

I didn’t follow a pattern for this hat either. Just half-double crochet into the back loops to create the spiral ribbing. I like this one. It fits snugly and the spiral effect makes it look like I know what I’m doing.

Nate ended up talking me into paying someone to fix my disaster (maybe because he’s the one who had to look at my hair all day?) and I wore the spiral beanie to the salon. I really like my hair now, by the way, and while I’m on the subject, I feel like I should mention that it was my first professional haircut in 6 years. lol.

In addition to a couple of cover-up hats, I also made my February block for the 2012 Block-a-Month Crochet-Along on Ravelry, or the 2012BAMCAL as the cool kids are calling it.

The colors scream “GRANNY SQUARE”

I’m serious, I don’t think I could have picked better colors. This block reminds me of all of the old women I used to hang out with back when I volunteered at a convalescent home. Not that it’s a bad thing… I loved those ladies.

And that’s it. Now, here’s a lazy ending to a lazy post:

Bye.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Lazy Post

  1. She's Crafty! says:

    I haven’t done my block for the month, I’m having problems reading the pattern :(
    I’m getting girl time with the best friend tonight, so I’m hoping to sit down and between the two of us (and a much needed bottle of wine) we can get it done.

Leave a Reply

