Froggin’ Like a Frogger

I went to Goodwill last night hoping to find something to frog for the yarn. Not only did it have to be something made from yarn I like, but it had to be something I didn’t feel bad about tearing apart. I’ve talked about my problem with frogging thrift store finds before. When I see something that was obviously hand-made, I don’t just see the yarn, I see the time that was put into it. I can’t stop myself from imagining that it was made by someone’s loving grandma, and then I can’t bear to take it apart. Sooo, I didn’t really think I’d find anything.

There were a few baby blankets, a couple of throws (one of which was made with super soft yarn and I’m thinking about going back to buy it – not for frogging but for snuggling with), and some dishcloths. I’d be okay with frogging a dishcloth, but I didn’t really like the yarn. I was about to give up when I found this knitted… thing. I say ‘thing’ because I really don’t know what it was. It was too wide and short to be a scarf, but too small to be even a baby blanket. Maybe it was a lap blanket. Either way, the yarn was really neat. It was nice and soft, too. I looked at the… thing… and really didn’t feel anything. No emotions at all. So I knew I’d be able to frog it. I bought it for $2.99 (the lady at the counter didn’t know what it was either and ended up charging me the price of a scarf) and headed home to get to work.

Before I took it apart. It looked pretty cool, but I had no use for it as it was.

Despite my determination to find something to frog, I’d never actually frogged something before. I figured you just check the edges and find where the knitter/crocheter wove in the end, but I wasn’t sure, so I googled it. I guess it really is that simple because I couldn’t really find any instruction beyond a pretty good blog post about frogging a sweater (which is a bit more difficult because of the seaming). I was a little worried that I’d have trouble doing it without some help, but I found the end, untied the knot, and it started unraveling. Easy.

The result! I love how Sinclair is eyeballing the yarn. He was watching me like that the whole time.

I think it took about an hour to take apart, but it was mindless. I unraveled the whole thing while watching a movie. I ended up with two big balls and a third that is just a bit over half the size of the others. I started a new ball every time I got to a yarn end in the item, so I think the original knitter used two and a half skeins. I don’t know about the yardage or anything, but it’s a pretty decent amount. Usually, I stay away from variegated yarns because they look pretty as the skein but ridiculous as a finished object, but I really like this stuff.

Now I just need to figure out what to use it for…

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Froggin’ Like a Frogger

  1. Sarah says:

    Great colour yarn! I frog things from jumble sales as it’s even cheaper. And yes you just try to find and end and start unpicking. I wind it into balls or hanks and give it a good wash to get out all the dust and kinks in the yarn.

    • Bean says:

      Does washing it as a ball work well? I read somewhere (maybe on that blog post about frogging a sweater) that it’s better to wash yarn in a hank, but I couldn’t make it into a hank :/

Leave a Reply

