Quick Cupcake Post

I just want to post a couple pictures of the cupcakes I decorated in my class today. We didn’t really do much, just practiced leaves and flowers, then decorate the cupcakes.

This is supposed to look like a shaggy mum, but it just looks like a purple mess.

Rather than make my own buttercream icing, I just bought a can of decorator icing from Michaels. It turned out to be a huge mistake, because the decorator icing is very gritty, and the bits of sugar kept getting stuck in the tip I had to use to make the shaggy mums. They turned out pretty badly, but at least I know why! Everyone else decorated all six of their cupcakes this way, but after screwing it up three times, I just experimented with the others before throwing them away (the cake was bad). Lesson learned: make my own frosting! If anyone reading this post is thinking about taking a Wilton course, bring the decorator icing to the first class, but never again!

Oh, and in case anyone was wondering, this is what the shaggy mum should look like. Honestly, I think even the professionally piped shaggy mum looks messy. I probably won’t make too many of them in the future, even with better icing.

This is a pom-pom. Fun to make and I think they look pretty cool.

My first pom-pom flower came out a bit better than my shaggy mums. I really like this one and I was sad that I can’t keep it forever. There’s definitely room for improvement, but that shouldn’t be a problem because I hope to make many more.

Next week is our final week, and we get to decorate one last cake. I wish I could do something different, but I think I’m going to stick to one of the cakes from the lesson book. It’ll be better if I can follow exact instructions, and I imagine my instructor has made the cakes in the book a bazillion times, so she can help me out. I don’t think I need any help with transferring stuff, but I know I need a lot of practice when it comes to the flowers. So next week’s cake will likely be disgustingly floral.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Quick Cupcake Post

  1. thecandiedmango says:

    The professional mum looks like a pile of noodles. The pom-pom is so much cuter.

  2. Looks like one of those purple thistles, I’d def like to eat it but alas it will be lonnnng gone by now!
    Liking the cake icing posts lots,

Leave a Reply

