Mostly Picture Post

I have lokshen kugel in the oven and about half an hour until it’s done, so I’m going to use this time to post some pictures :D

This stuff is so good. Let’s see if I can finish this post before it’s ready to eat…

I finished the cake decorating course! Most of it’s blurred, but you get the idea.

This is my final cake. We learned how to do the rose right before we started decorating our cakes. Unfortunately, my buttercream wasn’t mixed enough so the roses didn’t come out super smooth, but I actually like the way they look! The cake is lemon with lemon filling and vanilla buttercream.

Monday was my last class for the Decorating Basics course. I really enjoyed it and I learned a lot. I struggled with deciding whether or not I should sign up for the next course. On one hand, I knew the second course would be fun, and I really like the instructor. She’s going to start teaching it next Monday, and if I’m not in that class, I won’t be able to take the course taught by her for at least 3 months. I’d have to either wait, or go to a different store and risk being in a class taught by someone I don’t like. Also, three other ladies from my class were already signing up for the next course, and I think I’d feel more comfortable if I know some people in my next class. But on the other hand, there are quite a few supplies I’d have to buy for the second course, and that outweighed everything else as far as I was concerned.

I was actually leaving the store when I decided to go ahead and sign up. I might as well spend the money on something that makes me as happy as these classes do. Sooo… next course starts next Monday! I’m pretty stoked that I only have to wait a week, and I’ll have the same great instructor.

That’s the only news I have. I made a couple 6″ cakes during the week between my third and fourth class, and I’ve been meaning to post pictures of them, so here they are!

This one was made for a girl I know who really likes Angry Birds. I drew it myself despite the fact that I cannot draw. Cake is chocolate with ganache filling and vanilla whipped cream frosting.

With the rest of the batter from the Angry Birds cake, I made another small one. Chocolate with whipped cream frosting and ganache drizzled on top.

Aaaand the kugel is done! I finished the post right as the timer gave me the one-minute-warning. Yay!

Yum! :D

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Mostly Picture Post

  1. thecandiedmango says:

    Are the colored dots on the Angry Bird cake candy or icing? One of them looked like a banana Runt but it’s hard to tell at this angle.

  2. She's Crafty! says:

    Your final cake looks great. I think you will enjoy the next class a lot more. It gets more fun from here on out.

    • Bean says:

      Thanks! I had a little trouble frosting it, but I think my buttercream was too thick. I’m still not very good at judging the consistency before I start to use it.

      I’m excited about this next class being more fun because the first one was already awesome!

Leave a Reply

