My First Geocaching Adventure

Today, I went geocaching for the first time.

I biked to Edgerton Park because it’s pretty close to home and geocaching.com rated it as a good beginner geocache. Plus, today is apparently “Take a Walk in a Park Day” so hey, why not kill two birds with one stone?

I found the cache without too much trouble. I won’t normally post pictures of the inside of the caches I find, but this one was so cool…

This particular cache has a theme. It’s a coin exchange, and you can take a coin if you want, but you must leave one if you do. I chose a coin to take (it’s from Bermuda!), but then I realized that I didn’t have a coin to leave. In my excitement to get out of the house and go treasure hunting, I completely forgot the two coins I planned to bring along with me (one from China and the other from Turkey). So I signed the log and had to walk away coinless. Bummer! I think I’m going to go back sometime soon to trade the coin from China.

I wandered around for a bit because I love Edgerton Park, even when it’s all ugly and brown from winter. On the way home, I fell off my bike, which is okay because really, it wouldn’t be bike-riding season unless I fell at least once. So it’s good to have that out of the way.

Today’s adventure was a great first experience. Even though I didn’t get to take a coin, just finding the cache was really exciting and I’m really looking forward to a spring and summer full of geocaching.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

