The Ugly Granny Stripe

Inspired by both the granny stripe blanket on (in?) The Little Room of Rachell and the fact that I have way too much crappy yarn I’ll never use, I have started a blanket of my own. It’s a granny stripe (because they are neat), but it’s the ugliest one I’ve ever seen because I’m just throwing yarn into it so I can get rid of the stash. At first, I was kind of bummed that it isn’t going to look as nice as the others I’ve seen, but I’ve grown to love it.

It reminds me of my crochet beginnings. All of this ugly stashed yarn I’m using is from back when all I could make was a potholder or a crooked scarf and I had no idea what amigurumi was or that an afghan isn’t something you wear. I didn’t know how to do anything other than chaining, single crochet, and double crochet. When I bought yarn, I bought the cheapest possible yarn and didn’t care what color it was because I always said it was for practice. I wanted to “get back into crochet,” but I’d give up before my few rows of single crochet could actually become something, so I ended up with random half-skeins of puke-green or some horrible variegated mess.

And now, I am using those random skeins to make a blanket because, well, I shouldn’t be buying new yarn until I get rid of some of my stashed yarn, and all of this yarn is too ugly and/or not soft enough and/or there’s not enough of it left for me to make anything else. I did consider a yarn bomb, but there’s too much for that. No, it must become The Ugly Granny Stripe.

This is it so far. It’s even uglier in person. I love it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Ugly Granny Stripe

  1. But it doesn’t look at all ugly to me ! (and ty for the mention)

Leave a Reply

