Gum Paste and Fondant Lessons One and Two

Hello world!

I have now completed two classes in the third Wilton cake decorating course. This course takes place on Thursday nights rather than Mondays (which is the day I went to classes for the first and second course).

During the first class, we learned how to make a nice bow out of a 50/50 mixture of  gum paste and fondant.

Unfortunately, I dropped my bow (into the trashcan…on purpose…) before I was able to take a picture of it. This picture is from the Wilton website and is nearly identical to the one I made last week.

The bow was extremely easy to make, but I didn’t like it very much. It didn’t really look like a bow to me. Maybe it’d look better on a cake.

The second class was more fun, we learned how to make a calla lily, rose, and carnation, all out of gum paste.

A top and side view of the carnation I made in class.

This is the calla lily. We learned to the yellow bit in yellow sugar to give it some texture… a cool trick!

I love this rose. It was so fun to make and it’s so pretty, I can’t believe I made it!

You might be able to tell, but the rose is my favorite. I’m going to try to make another one out of clay at some point.

I guess that’s it for now. Next week: daisies and mums! I’m excited to do more work with gum paste, and I hope to be able to make more than just flowers in the future. I’ve seen some really cool gum paste stuff that looks like it was sculpted with clay and I’d love to be that talented.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Gum Paste and Fondant Lessons One and Two

  1. mydearbakes says:

    This is a very insightful post, thanks for sharing! :)

Leave a Reply

