If You Mustache, It’s Made of Chocolate!

I’ve finished my Wilton classes, but I don’t want to slow down, so I spent some time in the baking section at Michaels the other day and spent $7 (which is nothing compared to the money spent on cake decorating courses, yay!) on the materials for a new project.

It’s a little difficult to see, but that’s a candy mold that can be used to make moustache lollipops! I’ve seen it in the store a few times but have always been a bit intimidated by the candy melts. I didn’t realize how easy it is to use them.

The candy melts are little wafers that can be melted in the microwave, a double boiler, and even in a slow cooker (when you have larger amounts of wafers). I used the microwave because I don’t have a double boiler or the proper stuff to make one myself and it the candy melted super fast. The microwave instructions say to either set it at 50% power or use the defrost setting for one minute. Stir, and microwave for another 30 seconds, then stir again. I used the defrost setting and kept going until there were just a few lumps of unmelted chocolate left, because stirring it up helped to melt them and ensured that the chocolate wasn’t overcooked.

Once the chocolate was melted, I poured enough of it into each mold to fill it about halfway, added lollipop sticks, and filled them completely. At first, it looked super messy and uneven so I picked up the mold and gently tapped it on the table and it evened out (as well as eliminated any air bubbles).

Once the mold is filled, it goes in the refrigerator! The chocolate hardened up very quickly… it took less than half an hour. The easiest way to tell they’re ready without touching them is to look at the tray itself. It frosts up when it’s cold enough. The lollipops just pop out without any trouble. I couldn’t believe how quick and easy the whole thing was.

Since I only bought one mold tray, I had to go through this same process a few more times. The previously-melted chocolate hardened while I waited for the moustaches to harden, but luckily, it doesn’t hurt to re-melt the candy melts. I used one 12 ounce bag of candy melts and got 12 moustaches out of it with no chocolate leftover.

My first experience with candy melts has been a great one. I have plans for a lot of different projects now, and I’m looking forward to trying them out. I also learned that these same candy melts can be used to make candy clay, which is the same as modeling chocolate. I look forward to trying that out, too!

So. What would a post about moustache lollipops be without a picture of someone holding one of them up to his or her face? Unfortunately, there’s no one home but me…

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

