Moon Cookies!

Last week, I was feeling bakey and wanted to try something new so I decided to try making black & white cookies.

A black & white cookie is actually made with a cake-like batter, so the cookie itself is very soft. The batter bakes like a cookie, and the bottom half is frosted with black and white frosting that hardens a bit. They’re much more popular in New England than the west coast, where I’m from originally. I’d never even had one until I moved over here. From what I understand, they’re typically found in New York delis and were originally made out of the leftover cake batter in bakeries. I’ve heard them referred to as black & white cookies, moon cookies, and half-moon cookies.

I followed this recipe, but with the changes that were suggested in the second comment on the recipe page. It was really easy and I have no complaints, though I did end up with a much lighter chocolate than I’m used to, which made the cookie a lot sweeter.

I expected the batter to look like cake, but it kind of looked and smelled like pancake batter. After I baked them but before I frosted them, they even looked like pancakes:

Frosting them turned out to be much more difficult than I expected. I didn’t have as big a brush as I should have had, so it took a really long time. The chocolate frosting was made out of powdered sugar, water, and bittersweet chocolate. The white frosting was just powdered sugar and water. I applied the white frosting first and it dried up quickly, so I had to keep mixing in water to keep it spreadable. The batter made so many cookies, I was running out of places to put them! I ended up stacking them this way:

…which worked out really well. I read a comment on the recipe page that suggested letting the white frosting dry before applying the black, so I let them sit for a while but it was crazy because I had to fight with my roommate’s cats the whole time. They are so crazy, they’ve eaten plastic that was left out on the counter, so I know they’d eat the cookies if I didn’t pay attention.

I had a bit more trouble brushing on the chocolate frosting. It was coming out weird, like it was chunky or something. I started dipping my brush in water after a few strokes and it came out much smoother. You can see the difference the water made in this picture:

Thinking back on it, I still can’t believe the amount of time I spent brushing the frosting on these cookies. I’d like to make them again sometime, but I will definitely need a bigger brush. As for the taste – I’m not a huge fan of extremely sweet things (which may be surprising given my love for cake decorating and all that jazz), but I thought they were good. They’d definitely be better with a darker chocolate. I’d also like to put vanilla in the white frosting to give it more of a flavor so it doesn’t just taste like sugar.

I know I could have done a LOT better, but since this was my first time baking black & white cookies (let alone my first successful item baked from scratch without any help!), I’m not going to be too hard on myself. I’m really happy with this first attempt!

“Oh look… the black and white cookie. I love the black and white. Two races of flavor living side by side in harmony. It’s a wonderful thing, isn’t it?” -Seinfeld

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Moon Cookies!

  1. I love this! And it doesn’t look too difficult at all!

    xo,
    Courtney
    http://girlavantgarde.wordpress.com/

  2. mydearbakes says:

    I got hungry just by looking at your post! =)

    • Bean says:

      I wish I could share them! I ended up with a heavy box full of these things and there’s no way we’ll be able to finish them. I didn’t realize I’d end up with so many!

Leave a Reply

