My First Tiered Cake!

I took my first Wilton project class, Tall Cakes, in June. To be honest, I could have figured out how to make a tiered cake on my own at home, but I thought it was worth the $20 to see my Wilton instructor and classmates again because they are fun people.

Anyway, the class was great and I learned a lot. We had the option of either stacking two cakes or using pillars. I chose to stack my cakes because, well, I didn’t want to spend the extra money on pillars. Plus, pillars would make the whole thing taller and I was already unsure of how I’d fit a two-tier cake into my already-stuffed refrigerator.

I’m not going to get into exactly how it’s done, but if anyone is curious, please let me know and I’ll gladly post about the stacking (or pillar) process!

The class was held just three days before my 25th birthday, so of course I decided to make my it my birthday cake! Every time I make a cake, I think about the people I’m going to share it with and what they might like. This time, I chose everything I wanted, and it felt good, haha! I decided on a french vanilla cake with strawberry whipped cream filling and whipped cream frosting. As for decorations… it was ridiculously hot in the week leading up to the class and I didn’t feel at all like making decorations (or even baking the cake, but I had to do that!), so I decided to decorate the cake with fresh fruit and mint leaves. I think it turned out beautifully. It’s definitely the most elegant cake I’ve made and decorated so far, and very tasty.

On to the pictures!

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “My First Tiered Cake!

  1. bwince says:

    Happy Birthday! The cake looks wonderful. You have come so far since your first class. Congratulations.

    • Bean says:

      Thank you! I really have come a long way. It’s only been a few months, but I can’t believe I used to hate baking and being in the kitchen!

  2. vivilinh says:

    Congratulation! Looks awesome! I have yet to bake my first tiered cake!

  3. mydearbakes says:

    Loved this post! You made very very amazing bakes! =)

Leave a Reply

